Learning in the Library

Another excellent Edublogs.org blog

What I did over April vacation

on April 21, 2013

I have been learning about Creative Commons through a free online course, “Creative Commons for K-12 Educators,” from Peer 2 Peer University.  One of my assignments was to find a resource (such as an image or video) and modify it. Of course, it was essential to use a resource that allows others to use it. Resources with Creative Commons licenses allow people to use them in specified ways.  I used an image of the famous Leonardo da Vinci painting “Mona Lisa” which I obtained from Wikipedia. (The photograph, like the original painting, is in the public domain so everyone is allowed to use it.)  I uploaded the photo into PicMonkey, a free online photo editing program, and gave Mona Lisa a mustache, a hat, a bird, a rose, and a star.  It was like doodling on a picture in a magazine!  I am displaying my remix of “Mona Lisa” in this post.  Like any good digital citizen, I want to give credit where credit is due so I have added an attribution.  I have also added a Creative Commons license which lets everyone know that he/she can use my remixed image as long as they give me attribution.

Creative Commons License
Remix of the Mona Lisa by Karen Miliano is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Based on “Mona Lisa” by Leonardo da Vinci at Wikipedia 


One Response to “What I did over April vacation”

  1. Jane Park says:

    Hey Karen, I love it! The attribution looks great and the CC license is machine-readable (at least according to my http://openattribute.com browser plugin).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar